Texas Advocates is a state-wide self-advocacy organization run BY people who have intellectual disabilities FOR people who have intellectual and developmental disabilities. Each board member is an elected chapter representative.


Our Board Members for 2019-2020:

President: James Meadours, San Antonio League of Self-Advocates
Vice President: Ronnie Browning, Bridging the GAP Self-Advocates
Treasurer: Paul Nathan, El Paso Del Norte YLF
Secretary: Rachael Carlile, People First of Wichita Falls
Past President: Mel Hocker, Heart of Texas Self-Advocates
Historian: Deborah Varner, People First Advocates of Wichita County
State Advisor Trainer: Candi Ware, Brazos Valley Self-Advocates
State Advisor: Judith Laufer, San Antonio League of Self Advocates
State Advisor: Marshall West, Self Advocate Leaders of Denton
Katie Sheffield, Southeast Texas Self Advocates
Brenda Oldham, Tyler Rose Advocates
Ashley Cupples, Williamson County Self-Advocates
Anna Griffith, Gulf Coast Self-Advocates
Stacey Hawthorne, Gregg County Self Advocates
Sandra Salinas, Coastal Bend Self-Advocates
Rebecca Seglem, Self-Advocate Leaders of Denton
Medina Swan, Tall City Self-Advocates
Cindy Whittaker, Austin Advocates
Jody White, Advocates of Fort Bend County
Cheryl Branch, Brazos Valley Self-Advocates
Kendra Kerbow, Self Determination Group
Kathy Doty, Tarrant County Self-Advocates
William Taylor, Advocate Leaders of Dallas